Links to Resources

For more information about:
  • The Rhode Island State House and the Rhode Island State House Restoration Society visit the website here.
  • Rhode Island Governance visit the Rhode Island Legislature’s website here.
  • Rhode Island demographics visit the World Population Review website here.
  • Rhode Island History from the 1600’s to the present day visit the Secretary of State’s website and timeline here.
  • Rhode Island’s changing architectural landscape and photographic history as the context for the State House visit the Art in Ruins website here.
  • The 1890 design competition for the Rhode Island State House that resulted in the selection of  McKim, Mead & White architects, visit MIT here.
  • Getting your voice heard, contact the Secretary of State here.


The Department would like to express its gratitude to the many individuals and organizations who shared their expertise with the studio and helped the students develop a well rounded understanding of the State House and its context.

Rhode Island State House Restoration Society members

Sally Strachan, Chair RISHRS
Marisa Brown, Associate Director, RISD Center for Complexity
Mikael Powell, State of RI Division of Capital Asset Management & Maintenance (DCAMM)
Lane Talbot Sparkman, Associate Director of Education and Public Programs, Rhode Island Department of State

Rhode Island House of Representatives

Representative June Speakman
Representative Anastasia Williams

Rhode Island Historical Preservation and Heritage Commission

Sarah Zurier, Principal Historic Preservation Specialist

Providence Preservation Society

Rachel Robinson, Director of Preservation

Providence Department of Planning and Development

Chris Ise, Principal Planner, Capital Center Commission

Brown University

Traci Picard, Swearer Center Curatorial Fellow, co-chair of the Snowtown Project Research Team

Building Enclosure Science LLC

Michael Kenney, Chief Executive Officer
Ryan Haggerty, Vision 3 Architects


Wolfgang Rudorf, INTAR Department Head and Studio Critic
Heinrich Hermann, INTAR Studio Critic
Elizabeth Debs, INTAR Seminar Instructor
Jonathan Bell, INTAR Faculty
Francesca Liuni, INTAR Faculty
Elizabeth Dean Hermann, Department of Landscape Architecture
Jiayi Wang, INTAR MDes, Seminar Teaching Assistant